New Measuring Stick

When I visited the Chicago Music Exchange, I found my new measuring stick. You  know what I’m talking about. That guitar that you would really like to purchase, but really shouldn’t. It plays great. It has a great sound. It feels fantastic.

64 Guild Starfire III playing

And it is technically not where your money should be going.

64 Guild Starfire III body

So it becomes your measuring stick. Do I want to spend money on this new clutch for my car or would I rather have the 1964 Guild Starfire III? New clutch.

Would I rather have my kids’ college educations funded or the 1964 Guild Starfire III?

Would I rather have a new amp or the 1964 Guild Starfire III?

Would I rather go on vacation with my family or have the 1964 Guild Starfire III?

Would I rather buy my wife’s new gaming rig for Fallout4 or have the 1964 Guild Starfire III?

Would I rather have a my mortgage paid or a 1964 Guild Starfire III?

The questions and comparisons just keep on coming. Sometimes the answer is no. Sometimes the answer is yes. But I find that the chance to get a “new” guitar is stopped with the desire to live and pay for the rest of everyday life. I have a lot of guitars. I have had more. I play the guitars I have, and enjoy them immensely. But I also go days without playing the guitars I have. However, I do drive my car with the new clutch a lot. I do live in my house on a fairly regular basis. I do go on vacation from time to time. I do love my kids. My wife built an amazing computer for playing Fallout 4!

64 Guild Starfire III

So what is your measuring stick? And when does it win? Should it?

Leave a Reply

