Spectrum 2 lives

A long, long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, well at least it has been a few years, I ran into a Teisco Spectrum 2 at my local guitar shop and loved it! The shop owner let me take the guitar home and measure it, trace it, etc. I didn’t buy it (which I still regret, but finances just weren’t in the right place), but I did hook back up with my friend who works in a cabinet shop to make one. This is the same guy who refinished my Teisco Del Rey. His buddy programs their cad machine and has been creating a cad design of the body. It hasn’t been a high priority for anyone (life and other guitars seem to have gotten in the way). But now it is a reality!

The first body slab is done and other than the neck pocket needing some tweaking (too shallow), we are ready to begin creating a guitar! The body has a maple center with cherry wood wings. I think we’ll go with a clear finish, tele controls, and two single coil pickups in the neck and bridge positions, plus locking tuners and a string through hipshot bridge. This is exciting stuff! Pictures coming soon!

Leave a Reply

