string gauge matters

IF you ever install a roller nut, make sure you use a string gauge that actually fits the slots in the roller nut. Otherwise you’ll be like me and have to start over with the installation.

When I put on the nut I just grabbed a loose string I had (I think it was a 54 gauge). I used it to hold the roller nut in place while the glue dried. Unfortunately I also used that string to measure the distance between the string and the second fret to make sure I had the right string height. What I didn’t realize until I put a smaller gauge low E string in that actually fits the slot on the roller nut was that the loose string I used had been resting on the top of the roller nut, not on the roller inside the slot.

2 thoughts on “string gauge matters

Leave a Reply

