Strap lock buttons

How is it already the 9th of January? It seems like New Year’s was just yesterday. That was a week ago! Where does the time go?

Well this past week has gone toward work, kids, friends, more work, home repair, and all the other things that make up life. But not a lot of guitar.

So when my gold strap lock buttons arrived at my local guitar shop on Tuesday, I was pretty excited to have a reason to focus on my new 1995 Epiphone Sheraton VSB. I don’t have any straps that don’t have strap locks. Wow! Double negative. How about, “all my guitar straps (all three) have strap locks and all my guitars have strap lock buttons.” But they are all chrome and the Sheraton has gold (albeit faded and worn) hardware. And I am not going to buy an entire strap lock set just for the buttons.

My local guitar shop only had chrome strap lock buttons in stock, so I ordered some gold ones. And I’m patient…usually.

But now they are here and I have a process I go through.

First, I remove the old strap buttons and save them in a small zip lock bag with a piece of paper saying what guitar they came from.

Second, I cut out a small washer from scrap leather I got a while back and punch a hole in it.

Third, I rub the new screws in some soap so they are easier to screw into the guitar (if the old hole seems a bit worn, I will use some wood glue and a tooth pick to fill it).

Fourth, I screw the strap lock button and leather washer into place.

Finally I test it with a strap!

How do you keep your strap secure?

5 thoughts on “Strap lock buttons

  1. I use Schaller strap locks – or similar as there are many cheaper but near identical ones available on all my electrics. First thing I do once buying a guitar is… buy new strings to restring and set it up and a set of straplocks for it.

    Acoustics – I don’t I normally just use the buttons on them – I find for some reason the buttons on acoustics so much better than those generally fitted to electrics, in that they are more bulbous and normally it is a bit of a struggle to fit the strap onto it – good! Means it’ll be more difficult for it to accidentally come off. On electrics though I normally find they are just rubbish with the strap destined to just come off with any movement at all.

    One exception – PRS – although I did fit strap locks to mine simply because like you it means I have interchangeable straps – they use a really good strap button. Do you know what is actually is? A Fender Bass String Tree – seriously. I have a friend who uses them on all his guitars are strap buttons and they are pretty effective

    • I am very similar. But I am wondering if you store your acoustics with the strap on it? I have my Ibanez acoustic with the diy piezo pick up I put in. It has a strap button plug so there is no way I can use a strap lock. I also put a strap button (not a locking one) on the neck heal, so I keep a strap on it at all times. It stays on very well and I haven’t had any problems. But I’m also afraid to take it off and on a bunch because that will soften the leather on the strap and then it will not be so sturdy.
      The bass string tree is a great idea, but that seems like it would only work if you never wanted to take your guitar strap off the guitar. I like being able to switch guitars but keep the same strap.

      • I normally leave straps on all my guitars. Most live on hangers on the wall or in a rack. My Les Paul lives in it’s case that does have a leather strap and I do take that on and off a lot as case is so tight but with locks no issue.
        Acoustics more live in cases but I use the lighter straps on them and they can fit easily in the cases on the guitars. So I rarely remove straps on acoustics.

    • I’ve never seen those Jim Dunlop strap locks before. How have I missed them?!? It looks easy to swap the same strap to different guitars. I’ve read about the Grolsch bottle washers, but never tried them myself. Nice solutions for the standard strap button!

Leave a Reply

