Old Beat Up Guitars

Anyone else out there getting the email updates and advertisements for Reverb.com? They recently started a new segment called “Reverb Picks: Player Grade.” I don’t know how long they’ll do it, but I really like it. These are guitars (and other equipment) that are vintage, but are no longer in factory spec condition or even have all their original parts or finishes. They describe it as:

What makes an instrument player grade? Non-original finishes, replacement parts, well-earned battle scars and really anything else that takes a vintage guitar out of the coveted all-original category. Check out a few choice player-grade pieces recently listed on Reverb below. You won’t find these bad boys behind glass on the wall of a collector.

Currently they have an Ovation Tornado from 1969 that just looks great. I am very tempted by it, even with the well worn fret board.

Ovation Tornado

This is the same concept behind my purchase of my 62 Gibson SG Jr. I love the feel of the instrument. It has a history that I get to add to, but I’m not afraid of using it. And it is in my price range. But the struggle I have is that I need to play it to see if it is something I will love or if it is just a well worn guitar that I can easily live without.

So while the Ovation Tornado is very tempting, I will wait. Besides, for just a couple hundred bucks more, I could go back and get the Hagstrom Viking I did get to try and loved the feel of a while back. And since that is probably sold by now, I’ll just keep saving my pennies and enjoy what I’ve got.

4 thoughts on “Old Beat Up Guitars

  1. I think all mine will be classed as “player grade” – I’ve not got one guitar with out signs of playing wear on the fret boards, frets, back of the neck, picking marks on the body or where my arm rubs, dings and dents from the odd fall off a stand of whatever.

    I was once in a shop and pointed to an early 80s JV Squier strat, a 57 model with the maple neck, I have a 62. I said to my wife about it… the shop owner pounced pulling it down and holding it out for me to look at. “Great investment… blah blah. All original… blah blah. Hardly played” At that point, I said “Why what is wrong with it?” He looked dumbfounded. I explained mine has marks, knocks, changed electrics and tuners because I’ve played it for the last 30 years because it is great. I still don’t think he got my point…

    • Oh man! That makes me so happy to see. But you are right, I have begun lusting all over again. I foresee a post comparing this Epiphone Sheraton 50th Anniversary to the Fender Starcaster reissue.

Leave a Reply

