Warming Up?

While messing around with my pedalboard this weekend I finally took my BBE Green Screamer apart to diagnose its problems. The volume comes and goes like a really slow tremolo effect. Really slow, like up to 10 seconds of silence. Then the sound comes back slowly, then fades again to silence. The green power indicator light is on the whole time. I haven’t tried using battery or wall wart power, but I will. The switch is working. It almost sounds like a tube amp warming up, but then it goes silent again, then it warms up again. I can’t figure it out.

With my BBE Green Screamer off my board I was finally able to put my Electro Harmonix LPB-1 boost on it.

Pedalboard Change2

(I tried to just get the LPB-1 in focus, but now that I look at it…it just seems like a bad picture of my pedalboard)

I am not going to do a full review of the LPB-1 (mainly because I don’t know enough about it yet), but it is a very different pedal from the BBE Green Screamer. It is a boost while the Green Screamer is an overdrive. I had my Boss SD-2 Dual Overdrive going into the Green Screamer. I liked how that sounded when I had them both on more than if the Green Screamer was going into the Dual Overdrive. The Green Screamer didn’t have as full a sound as the Dual Overdrive and I liked what it took away from the Dual Overdrive more than I liked what the Dual Overdrive added to it.

In contrast, the LPB-1 drives my amp into distortion much more quickly than either the Green Screamer or the Dual Overdrive do (at least with the way I have them set up). I was able to keep a pretty consistent volume level with my clean amp, my Green Screamer, and my Dual Overdrive in all the different configurations. The LPB-1 puts my amp just on the other side of breaking up so it always sounds overdriven and not just louder like a boost should. Now admittedly I haven’t explored it very much. I get a similar consistent overdriven sound from the Dual Overdrive, but at a lower volume. That is the only reason I think the LPB-1 is pushing my tube amp harder. But, like I said, I haven’t explored it very much. More to come.

One thought on “Warming Up?

  1. Pingback: Pedal Repair | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

