Semi-hollow body

I’ve been lusting after a made in Korea 1992 Epiphone Sheraton VSB guitar at my local guitar shop. I’m not really in the market for a new guitar, but I really like the look and feel of this guitar. It is basically a Sheraton II, but with a “vintage” sunburst finish. I also really like the flat curve on the back of the neck. Plus the binding looks really nice! My local shop also has two current production Sheraton II’s, and while they are very similar, I can still feel a difference between the two. Plus, the used price is lower than the new price!

Here’s one in action.

Also, interestingly enough, it looks like the original “vintage” bridge from 1992 was replaced with a standard Tunematic bridge and stop tail piece. However, it looks like the bridge posts either weren’t seated properly in the body (they come up about 1 or 2 mm) or the string tension over the years has taken its toll on the replacement bridge, which would be bad news. I’ll have to follow up on that question if I were to somehow get the ability buy this guitar.

At the same time, a local pawnshop has a pair of Yamaha MSR400 powered PA speakers. This is something that has been on my wish list for years! It would be the perfect conclusion to my quest for my own complete PA system. But I’m not in need of a PA system, nor do I foresee that need arising in the near future. Of course I’m not really in need of a semi-hollow body guitar, but at least I would use it a lot more right away.

Oh, G.A.S. How I love and hate thee! Of course this is all a moot point because I can’t afford anything right now and I don’t see myself selling any gear anytime soon (unless I decide to go guitar only by selling my bass, bass amp, and mixing board…nah).

And just for fun, here it is being played again.]

4 thoughts on “Semi-hollow body

  1. Pingback: Road Trip | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

  2. Pingback: Next Guitar? | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

