National Guitar Museum

While passing through Idaho Falls, ID we stopped to check out the National Guitar Museum‘s traveling exhibit. It was a great introduction to the guitar and still fun to see for someone more familiar with the instrument and rock (not to mention the fact that I live in the Great Pacific Northwest with the Experience Music Project in Seattle). Seeing Johnny Winter’s Firebird guitar with the SG neck was pretty cool. And one of Chuck Berry’s Gibsons too! I think it was an ES355, but I can’t remember. The cool thing was how he had taken off the arm for the vibrato. It was a well used guitar, which is always neat.

For me, the coolest part of the exhibit was the Teisco Spectrum 4 they had on display. As I have said before, the Teisco Spectrum is a great guitar and I plan to recreate a whole bunch of them. But seeing it with all the other amazing guitars seemed to validate my original interest.

cropped-teiscodelreyspectrum2.jpg

Sure, there are some amazing guitars in the exhibit that I would love to have, but I haven’t tried to recreate a Parker or some other guitar that is also a piece of art. I have begun putting together a Spectrum. And I still think it is a great amalgamation of guitar features.

So if you get a chance to see the traveling exhibit, check out the Teisco Spectrum 4!

4 thoughts on “National Guitar Museum

    • It really is a great idea. And it provides more exposure to areas.that don’t have as much access as others. I had a lot of fun seeing the vintage Martins right next to the modern entry level Gibson SG special. And there were black top Fender strats hanging all over the place for decoration. When I saw them from far away I figured they were Squiers, but when I got close they were Fenders. I was impressed on one hand, but sad on the other because I would love a Fender Black Top Strat. Those two chrome covered humbuckers in a strat are just cool!

  1. Hi there,

    I recently stumbled upon your blog post where you talk about recreating a Teisco Spectrum 2 – (https://gtr1ab.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/spectrum-2-project/)
    I’ve been thinking about doing same thing for a while now, I simply love the shape of this guitar.
    I was planning on purchasing a body from ebay and have it shipped overseas, then scan it, make a CAD model and find someone who could make me a new body with a CNC machine. A friend of mine who is a luthier would make me a new neck as well.

    I assume that you’ve managed to delineate the guitar’s body shape. Is there any way I could convince you to share the plans for the body? I would be immensely grateful.

    • I’m happy to share what I’ve got. I just traced and measured the body when I borrowed one from my local shop. It is all on paper still, but I’m happy to share it with you. Please email me (gtr1ab at g mail dot com) and we can figure out a way to get you copies of what I have. I did draw my plans with a neck pocket that would fit a standard Fender style neck. Hopefully that will work for you!

Leave a Reply

