Love, Passion, Death and Priorities

I don’t know why, but I have been thinking a lot about life lately. I have toyed with the idea of writing my life manifesto as I understand it currently, but that is usually replaced by the simple thought: What would you do if you knew you were going to die soon?
I am sure there is some TED talk on this. Or some meme that has circulated the internet multiple times, but it is the thought I keep coming to.
And my answers are nothing world altering. Nor are they worth sharing, but what they are are things that should be the priorities of my life, which aren’t obvious on a surface view of my life…nor somewhat deeper either.
Are any of us doing exactly what we love? Can any of us do more of what we love while still maintainimg the other priorities of our lives? Are there things we spend a lot of time on that are not a priority?
I think we all ask ourselves these things from time to time. And I don’t think there is a single, simple, fix all answer. But hopefully we are fine tuning.
I am preparing to play campfire songs on guitar for my daughter’s girl scout campout. Not only will I have to play and sing at the same time (I am not good at this), but I will lead the girls and leaders. This is way outside my skill set. And outside my comfort zone right now. But it is something I have always wanted to do. So I am making it a priority and getting started now.
This isn’t life changing, but it is change. It is movement toward my priorities. Toward what I value in life.
So I hope we can all make the little changes necessary to get us in alignment with our priorities. That we will love what we do and get to choose between good and good instead of bad and good.

2 thoughts on “Love, Passion, Death and Priorities

  1. “Are any of us doing what we love?” – there is a huge statement there – mostly not is the obvious answer for many of us. But to change this is so hard – and there are the “time eaters” the things that we just have to do that eat away at the time we’d like to spend on our on visions… I know this is so true at the moment for me.

  2. Pingback: Gratitude | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

