Dropped D

Today was a rough day at work. It wasn’t horrible by any means, but it was rough. A lot had to be done and yet my to do list just seemed to be getting longer as the day progressed. No, it didn’t seem to be longer. It was longer. I had more to do at the end of the day then I did at the beginning. And it all had to be done today.

As I was winding up the last 20 minutes of my day a coworker knocked on my office door. I  turned, looked at him, and asked him what he needed. He paused as if to leave, but asked if I had a few minutes. Not feeling very professional, I sighed. Sure.

He then proceeds to ask if I am familiar with a hipshot drop D electric extender. I asked if he meant a B bender. He said no. And then invited me down to his office to check out the one he just installed on his guitar. I told him I would do my best.

I went back to work. Wrapped up a million things, and headed to the elevator with 3 minutes to spare. I stopped by my coworkers office and he showed me his Godin acoustic-electric with the drop D switch. It was pretty cool. And it was fun. And all the stress of the day just left. We chatted a few minutes. We both played the guitar in standard tuning and dropped D. Then I left and got home on time. It was a great way to end the work day.

Leave a Reply

