G.A.S. Averted Again

Gear Acquisition Syndrome has been averted again. My local guitar shop got a used Fender Tele Thinline reissue with Bigsby tail piece in stock. I have really liked the look of these guitars, but haven’t played one in a while. So I picked it up, strummed it, played some blues licks with the song playing in the background of the store.

I didn’t like it.

The neck was huge. It felt really heavy for a “thinline.” The arm for the bigsby tailpiece fell in the wrong place for me. I just didn’t like it.

Whew. G.A.S averted…or was it?

Now I think that the few guitars I have found that I really liked the feel of, but didn’t get, are that much better. Now I’m feeling G.A.S. for gear that I have not pursued, but I know is still for sale.

Thankfully, I am in the middle of a big home improvement project and don’t have the time or energy (or funds) to pursue anything right now.

So I’m curious, how do you deal with G.A.S.?

2 thoughts on “G.A.S. Averted Again

  1. Work out how I could make one for myself and then, when I calculate the cost and effort, the feeling usually passes.

Leave a Reply

