Target Tone

I was driving up to fencing the other day and heard “The Wind Cries Mary” by Jimi Hendrix (or more officially, the Jimi Hendrix Experience).

Anyway, I heard this…

… and thought to myself, “That is one of the tones I want to achieve.”

I think I’ve come close, but it isn’t just about gear. It is about how you play with the gear you have. For example, I mentioned in a past post that I wasn’t as happy with my BBE Green Screamer pedal as I was with my Boss SD-2 Dual Overdrive. But then I played my SG and I loved the sound of the Green Screamer so much more than the Dual Overdrive.

Anyway, here’s a free, two part lesson from Justin for how to play The Wind Cries Mary. I’ll be using it.

And here is part 2, the solo:

And if you’re looking for a different way to play it:

One thought on “Target Tone

  1. Pingback: More Target Tones | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

