pedal projects

If you are looking for some great effects pedal projects, then Guitar FX Layouts is a great resource. I haven’t sat down to build any of them yet, but I love seeing all the pedals and plans they put up. Obviously it is easier to buy an original. And it is probably better to support the manufacturer who came up with the original effect, but it is also really fun to try doing something yourself. You decide.

One of the main reasons I haven’t tried any of these projects is I am still such a newbie when it comes to effects pedals. I’ve done a few things on my own (upgrading my Russian Big Muff Pi, modifying my Oh No Ho feedback, and trying to build a Ruby mini-Amp), but they have not been easy and I do not know what I am doing.

Anyway, last month the Emerson Custom Guitars EM-Drive pedal came up on Guitar FX Layouts and it is appears to be very simple. So it is on my short list of projects I will be doing in the near future (just after I finish a couple of guitar builds for my friends).

So I’m curious, what pedals would you be interested in trying to build yourself?

One thought on “pedal projects

  1. Very cool site. Thanks. Another great starter pedal, even though it is valve based, is Beavis Audio’s valvecaster. One of these days I’ll get round to building a robust road-ready version.

Leave a Reply

