Rocksmith Update

I’ve had my coworker’s copy of Rocksmith for over a week now and I’ve probably logged about 10 to 15 hours on it. It really is fun. I enjoy it a lot.

But it is driving my wife crazy! The lag between what I play and when the sound comes out  is so distracting to her that it is painful. It isn’t as noticeable to me when I’m in the middle of a song, but it does seem like I’m playing a fraction of a  second behind the song all the time.  And I can’t figure out the settings to minimize this lag thing.

But I have to balance this with the fact that I’ve been playing the guitar more and having a ball. Plus my kids dance around and think it is very entertaining (what can I say, they aren’t very discerning when it comes to skill and musicality…they are my perfect fans!).

I’ll probably keep it one more week, so I’ll report back.

Oh, and my complaint about not being able to focus on tough parts is apparently unfounded. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve read that you can select portions of songs to practice over and over.

Leave a Reply

