Organ Sounds

I need to start this post with the statement that I am really enjoying my POG2 from Electro Harmonix. Past readers will remember the many posts I spent talking about how cool it would be to own that pedal for all the organ sounds I could make with it. And then I got it (it’s the big red one).

cropped-pedalboard-12-20121.jpg

Ironically (if I am using that word correctly, I ‘m never sure since the popularity of that Alanis Morissette song), I use it more for the cello and upper octave capabilities than the organ capabilities. Don’t get me wrong. I love the organ sounds it can make, I’m just really liking the cello sounds the best!

Anyway, last night I was at a co-workers funeral in a big chapel and once again I heard what a real organ can do. WOW!

I’m sure there are even more amazing recordings out there. And the natural limitations of YouTube will always make the live performance worth attending. But sitting in the chapel as it was filled with Felix Mendelssohn’s “Allegro Maestoso” reminded me of how amazing organs are and how a guitar effects pedal can provide usable and enjoyable sounds, but it is not a massive pipe organ being played with skill and dedication.

Leave a Reply

