Thinning the Herd

Or “How I got a 62 Gibson SG Jr”

My local guitar shop has been restoring a battered vintage guitar every couple of months for a while now. I really enjoy seeing what they are able to do with old strats and jags and teles and les pauls that have been re-routed, re-wired, re-painted, etc. so many times it is hard to figure out what the guitar was originally.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been privy to some of the latest projects due to a busy work schedule, so I’ve just enjoyed stopping in the shop to find finished rebuilds of guitars I could never afford…even in their broken state. Until now. A 1962 Gibson SG Jr had been re-routed for two humbuckers instead of the usual P-90 in the bridge position. The finish had been redone beyond recognition. The holes for the extra knobs for the new neck pick up had resulted in a big hole where the controls were supposed to go. The neck joint had broken and was repaired at least once. You get the point. But the neck was fantastic and it really is a cool piece of history, so as with all the other projects, my local guitar shop decided to breath new life into this guitar. But the vintage value was gone and it was really all about just getting it to play well. A true “player’s guitar.”

So I gathered up all the project guitars and amps I could bear to part with and traded them in for the SG! Don’t worry, I still have my Wolverine guitar, my Warmoth project guitar, my 74 Epiphone Crestwood, and a few others (it is still a herd).

And even though the herd has been thinned, it feels like a better quality herd with more depth and substance to it. I enjoy playing all the guitars and I am getting a better understanding of the differences and nuances of each surviving member.

Pics to come in the next few days!

3 thoughts on “Thinning the Herd

  1. Pingback: 62 Gibson SG Jr repaired | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

