Tap Tempo

I have a few pedals with tap tempo capabilities. If I could, I would have a lot more. However, I would like to have a single tap tempo control of all of them. I didn’t think I could do it on my budget until I saw this. The Visual Sound Time Bandit.

visual sound time bandit

But it isn’t an actual tap tempo. It is all about following a click track. But what if I connected my acoustic stomp box to it in a live setting? Would my attempt to rhythmically tap my foot on the acoustic stomp box work the same as a click track being fed into the Time Bandit? Seems like it would.

Plus, the Time Bandit has a BPM capability for nailing specific tempos, which has been a complaint of many delay and looping pedals that don’t have a bpm capability. How hard would it be to send the “tap tempo” signal from the Time Bandit to multiple pedals so they are all in sync? Seems like it would just take some cables, some 1/4 inch plugs, and some soldering.

I’m not going to do anything about this idea anytime soon, but isn’t it neat when you see a product and your mind automatically goes to how you can expand that product’s use beyond the original purpose. Maybe I’m not adding a lot of “expanding,” but a quick search didn’t reveal anyone else sharing this idea. So here you go. If anyone tries it, let me know if it works!

Leave a Reply

