Mugen Hoso

With a beat up old Fender strat, a borrowed Music Man 212HD amp, and a well loved red sparkly drum kit, the two men that are Mugen Hoso put on a great reminder of what rock and roll is all about at Le Voyeur in Olympia, WA last night. I was happy to be part of it!

The crowd started off quiet, but the infectious grin of the guitarist/singer quickly had everyone clapping and singing along.  I think this picture was the only time he stood still the entire show! The drummer was great to watch as he kept up with the guitarist.

I was on the side of the room trying to not get bumped into while my back brace maintained my impeccably good posture! I couldn’t bounce around to the show like I wanted too, but I could clap and I could yell along with the choruses!

As you can probably tell, I really enjoyed the show. Le Voyeur is a small venue and according to their Facebook page, Mugen Hoso will be playing here again in September. They’ll also be on most of the west coast for the next month, so if you can see them, please do!

The guitarist was using a Fulltone OCD that was on most of the show and a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet that he would use for different parts of different songs. It looked like he was plugged into the first channel on the amp, so no reverb or tremolo effects. And he had a Boss tuner in the chain too. Every time he tuned up he would really stretch his strings, so they must have been new. When they first plugged in he spent an exceptionally short period of time to dial in his sound through a foreign amp. If only we could all dial in our sound so quickly! Not to mention then put on a fantastic show!

Most of their set was in Japanese, so I’ll leave you with something more traditional.

Leave a Reply

