Guitar Straps

I stopped by my local guitar shop the other day to see if they had schaller strap locks. They didn’t have any new ones, but then the sales guy/techie noticed some used ones on his parts bench and sold them to me for cheap! I now have three straps with strap locks and almost all my guitars are outfitted with strap lock buttons.  This makes it easy to use one guitar strap and quickly switch guitars on the same strap when I want. But I also never worry about the guitar I’m playing falling off.

So why would I need more than one guitar strap if I can so easily swap between all my guitars?

Basically, my three guitar straps that have strap locks have their own individual characteristics I like…and some sentimental history.

The first guitar strap I ever got was a cheap nylon guitar strap with leather ends. I used it with my bass and my Wolverine guitar. My first summer away from my wife for a summer internship my studded belt broke. So using only a pair of house keys I painstakingly took all the metal studs off the broken belt and put them on the cheap nylon Fort Bryan brand guitar strap. I don’t know what it is about these straps, but the leather button holes for the strap buttons is excellent. Unlike almost every inexpensive/cheap Ernie Ball nylon guitar strap I’ve seen or used, the leather doesn’t wear out. It stays on surprisingly well. But after making more and more improvements to my Wolverine guitar (as well as adding more guitars to the collection), I finally decided to put strap locks on this strap.

When I got my first “old” guitar (vintage just doesn’t seem right), my wife thought my 1974 Epiphone Crestwood ET-275 was pretty cool. So she got me an “old” style thin strap. I’d talked about them in the past, but no I have one. You may remember it from when I drilled in a few more holes to make it go shorter.  This strap also works really well for my SG style guitars (including my Teisco Del Rey) that don’t have a strap button on the upper horn so the strap has to twist.

As part of my Dad’s unloading of equipment, I got back the sting ray leather strap I had given to him as a gift a long time ago. I don’t know why, but my Dad has quite a few sting ray leather products. Wallets, business card holders, etc. I was a poor grad student, but saw this and got it for him to use with the bass he hoped to learn to play. I spent more on this strap for him than all the straps I have. This is the strap that sent me into the shop for the strap locks.

Although not pictured, I have a few more Fort Bryan nylon straps. I use one on my acoustic guitars and one on my knock off jazz bass.

How do you use your guitar strap(s)?

3 thoughts on “Guitar Straps

  1. Definitely seems counter-intuitive to buy more than one strap when you have strap locks – but I’m guilty of it as well. Guitar players like buying stuff – it’s a weird phenomenon. Since my guitars pretty much all have different body styles, they all hang differently anyway – so I’ll stick with the thought that the straplocks on each guitar protect it from falling off each individual strap that each guitar has.

    • I absolutely agree that the locking part of strap locks should be the primary reason for the getting them.
      Swapping guitars with the same strap is a plus. I am finding myself picking one strap for a practice or jam session and then using that one strap with any and all guitars I play that time.
      Anyone else do it differently?
      I do keep one of my three main straps in my office that I use with whatever guitar I have in my office that week. I try to switch out my “office” guitar every week or two…however lately things have been so busy I haven’t been playing. So switching hasn’t been a real priority.

  2. Pingback: wimps kick | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

