Fingertips

My fingertips hurt.

My neighbor is teaching himself to play blues piano and he came over for a jam session this weekend. We spent a lot of time playing blues shuffles and taking turns soloing. It was a lot of fun but I haven’t played that long or with that intensity or even that long standing up for a long time.

Very quickly my fingertips were raw and sore and my left wrist hurt. The angle for my fretting hand was very different from when I play sitting down. I usually play sitting down. I didn’t realize it until this weekend, but I need to play more standing up and I need to adjust my guitar strap so my guitar is in a good position ergonomically for my wrist and posture. I’m sure that will fix all my wrist problems. Right?

My fingertips (uh, I almost said on the other hand) just need to toughen up!

Leave a Reply

