Speaker Cabinet Handle

I recently completed all the wood parts of my diy, home made, self built, 1×12 speaker cabinet. I haven’t sanded or put a finish on the wood because I still have a few more things that need to be done.  First, I need to install a handle. Second, I need to install some rubber feet so it can sit on top of other amps or speaker cabinets and clear the handles.  I want to get everything drilled before I do the final sanding and staining/finish.

I ordered an Ampeg style, light brown leather handle with white stitching.  I think it is going to look really good with the wood (doesn’t matter if I do just a clear finish or an amber tint finish).  The only concern I have is how to actually install the handle.  The website I purchased the handle from said it measures 7 3/8th inches. If I drill holes in the wood and install it at 7 3/8 inches, will there be enough space under the handle for to actually pick up the speaker cabinet?  Should it be closer together so the handle curves up?  Will it curve too much and then my amp head won’t sit on top of the speaker cabinet properly?

My biggest fear, as always, is of commitment. I don’t want to commit to the wrong spacing and have permanent holes in the speaker cabinet. So I decided to install the handle first on a piece of scrap wood at 7 3/8th inches.  If that works, then I’ll know it will work for the speaker cabinet. If it doesn’t work, then I know I’ll have to try a different measurement.

Using the scrap wood worked wonderfully! The feet on my Frenzel Champ Super Sportster head did not clear the handle on the scrap wood.  I measured the handle and even when it is flat it is 3/4 inches tall.  But I had ordered 3/4 inch rubber feet for the cabinet, so I installed the taller feet on the amp head and put the smaller rubber feet from the amp head onto my new speaker cabinet. The new rubber feet just barely clear the new handle.

Sorry the picture is so over exposed, but it was the only way I could get a good shot of the handle under the amp head.

Then I measured again and again to get the spacing just right. I wanted it centered too.

Finally, I drilled and it is all done!

Leave a Reply

