Late Night Blues

Last night I did a fencing demo at a local college campus. It was a lot of fun, and even though I didn’t fence, it was just great to talk about it and share something I love with others.

On my way back to my car I heard music.  More importantly, I heard the very distinct sound of Freddie King’s “Hideaway.”  At least I think it was Hideaway.

I turned the corner of a building and found two guys in the bottom of an outside stairwell playing guitar. One was on electric guitar (looked like a strat) playing through an amp plugged an outlet on the outside of the building and the other was playing rhythm on an acoustic guitar that was unamplified.

It was definitely more of a Freddie King sound with more treble than the Mayall Bluesbreaker’s Clapton version that is has a little more bass.  I was still on my high from sharing fencing, but it was cold. I didn’t join them and I didn’t get any closer, but I really enjoyed the fact that they were sharing their music. It was obviously something they love.  Nice job guys.

Leave a Reply

