Drive Quest pt 8

This isn’t really a post about my drive quest. It’s about the fun of making a remote channel selector footswitch for my Boss SD-2 Dual Overdrive pedal.  In pt 7 I mentioned that I used the footswitch I had made to be a tap tempo for my Boss DD-7 Digital Delay pedal.  It worked, but the switch in my tap tempo footswitch would not stay on (it isn’t designed to switch, just activate when it is held down). I think that makes it a single pull single throw switch, but I might be making that up.  So I need something that is a “double throw” if I understand what the “dt” in “spdt” stands for.

This means I have a new project!  I am going to use an old dpdt foot switch I have laying around to make a remote footswitch to switch between the crunch and lead tones on my SD-2 while still being able to use the pedal’s actual footswitch to turn the effect off and on.  It really opens up the versatility of this pedal.

I haven’t found an enclosure yet to put the remote footswitch in, but I had the parts (dpdt switch and mono 1/4 jack) so I wired it up to see if it would work. It took all of 5 minutes. I will rely on the green/red light on the pedal to indicate channel, so no need to follow an actual Boss FS-5L schematic with LED indicators. I just wired the middle and corner connectors of the switch to the sleeve and tip connectors of the jack. I don’t think order matters since it is simply being used as an on/off switch.  I could’ve used an SPDT switch, but I don’t have one.

Here it is with the crunch mode engaged.

Here it is with the lead mode engaged using the switch I just made!

And the foot switch for the actual pedal still turns it off and on. Now I just need to find an enclosure for the remote switch and I’m ready to go!

2 thoughts on “Drive Quest pt 8

  1. Pingback: Enclosure | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

  2. Pingback: Foot Switch Finally | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

