Drive Quest pt 2

It’s been a week since my last post, but this isn’t really a confession. In that time I have been having a wonderful time with family. I have played the guitar. I have enjoyed life.  I have not finished putting together my thoughts on what overdrive/distortion/fuzz effects are right for me.

In pt 1 of my Drive Quest I mentioned that I am not happy with my current sound. So the first step is to gather all my options. If this were a really cool blog or a blog that attracted any real attention, I’m sure I could get lots of different options to try.  But it isn’t.  However, I must admit, I did get to use the Vox ValveTone V810 for free thanks to the kindness of my local guitar shop.

Let’s get started.  I’ve got my Russian and American Electro Harmonix Big Muff Pi’s. I’ve got my Boss SD-2 dual overdrive. And I’ve got my Marshall Guv’Nor Plus GV-2. Line them all up into my Frenzel Champ Super Sportster and I can have a shoot out!

There’s just one thing. The Big Muff’s are really considered fuzz boxes. The Boss SD-2 has “crunch” and “lead” modes. And the Guv’Nor Plus is either a distortion or an overdrive.  I don’t know and I don’t know which ones I should be using for the sounds I want to achieve.  So the quest continues…

Leave a Reply

