Champ

Great post from GoofyDawg over at GuitarGear.org about his 58 Fender Champ amp. I love hearing all the different sounds people are able to get with this little tube amp. It is a great reminder of how much I enjoy my Frenzel Champ Super Sportster. It is the same foundation as the classic Fender Champ, but it has a bunch of added bells and whistles.

I’ve written about it before, but it really is a great amp. I still find my favorite sounds by combining the F and M preamps. Something about getting the best of both the classic Fender and Marshall sounds at the same time just fits for my ear.  Add in my open backed homemade 1×12 or closed backed jury rigged 2×12 and it really provides a lot of different sounds.

Someday I will add an effects loop and a second power tube, but for now, I’m just enjoying what I’ve got. That’s also important. As guitarists, we can lust after gear a lot, but at the end of the day, we should make sure we are getting everything we can out of what we have. Gear will not make you sound good. It can help you sound better, but you still have to be able to play. And you have to be able to manipulate the gear you have. That’s why it is important to learn how to set up a guitar, how to use your effects pedals, how to EQ your amp to the sound you want, etc.

So I’m curious…for all you those people who can actually play, what piece (or pieces) of gear do you find essential to your sound? What pieces of gear do you know inside and out? What pieces are you learning about? Share your experiences!

2 thoughts on “Champ

  1. my first amp was a tweed champ with a fender musicmaster guitar. it was a fine setup .it sits in some fender collectors room in oklahoma city. on another note if you look closely to the schmatic of a early bassman an a early marshall theres very little difference..the bassman is what started the marshall line. check it out….art daboogieman jella

    • I’ve always chuckled when I read about how the Marshall circuit was just a British attempt to copy a Bassman. And I also chuckle about the real reasons behind the closed back Marshall 4×12 speaker cabinet. There was no magic equations or attempts to get the “perfect sound.” They just needed all four speakers to fit in as small a space as possible. (admittedly that’s the condensed version of the story, but I believe it).
      And hopefully you got the benefit of that Oklahoma City fender collectors’ money!

Leave a Reply

