Trying to Learn

I’m trying to learn to play the guitar. But I’m also trying to learn how to repair, assemble, and build guitars. Not to mention how to record guitars and write songs. And I took advantage of my computer and my mixer tonight to capture some song ideas. It went pretty well, but then I wanted to throw in some drum beats. That’s where it got more difficult. Other than pushing record and delete (which I do often as I mess up when I’m recording), I haven’t actually used recording software. I need to learn how to actually use the tools I have.

So you do you learn? Do you try to master the tools you have or keep looking for new tools/toys?

3 thoughts on “Trying to Learn

  1. I like to break it down into two different things. First I try to learn about all the things the tool CAN do – I don’t necessarily need to know how to do it, just that it can be done. That way when I stumble across a new situation I know whether the tool can do it – and then I can investigate how.

    The second aspect is trying to master all of the things I NEED the tool to do. I don’t spend any time trying to learn the things I don’t need to know.

    I use Reaper for my recording. Its capabilities are far in excess of what I need on a day-to-day basis. I can lay down a midi drum track and multitrack record direct and mic’d instruments. I can edit/slice/cut/copy/paste things I’ve recorded. I can mix and apply FX. And that gives me everything I need. I do know, for example that it will do auto-tune and pitch shift but, as yet I haven’t needed that. When I find I do need it I’ll go and learn that aspect.

    • That is a great approach. The struggle I have is my ability to focus on these things. I don’t know if it is just having small children or having to work for a living or any of the other things going on, but I don’t seem to focus on any one tool long enough to learn what it can do. Or I start something, get distracted, start something else, get distracted, etc., etc.
      But really, that distraction comes from a pause in my efforts due to a lack of knowledge, skill, or money. I don’t finish the first before moving on to the second. But I don’t think this is limited to guitars or to me. Thanks for the advice!

  2. I would just learn to use the features of the software that you need to know. You can look at the advanced stuff later when you know the basics. If you try new software, you’ve got to go through the same learning curve all over again. Only go for different software if the program you’re using won’t do want you want to do.

Leave a Reply

