Teaching to Fish

You all know how it goes:

Give a man a fish andhe eats for a day. Teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime.

Or, more appropriately, teach a person… Anyway, because of work I had to cancel my guitar class this week. I got a pleasantly surprising email from KC about how the class went without me.

Who knew my presence wouldn’t even be necessary to teach people to play the guitar! Perhaps my suspicions that I’m more of a hinderance than a help is true.

Last week we had a friend of KC join us. He’s had a guitar for a long time but never learned to play it. So this week’s class was spent bringing him up to speed on the stuff KC and Son of KC have already learned.

KC said that he hadn’t realized how much progress he had made till he actually taught it to someone who was where he was just a few months and weeks ago. He then thanked me for teaching him. I think congratulations are deserved all around. KC has really taken the time to learn. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

