Recording

I don’t know how long it has been out of commission, but I have not been able to record any of my playing for months. So today I tried to troubleshoot my problems away. I ended up getting everything working, but I really don’t know what I did other than reload the drivers.

I’m not comfortable paying for this blog, but maybe I’ll make some slideshows and put some of my recordings on youtube so I can show them on my wanna be blog.  Of course, that means opening a YouTube account or something.

Anyway, the important thing is that I can once again record myself as I play and practice. This is important for two reasons. First, you learn better when you can hear yourself. And you can’t really listen to yourself (good and bad) when you are playing at the same time. Second, if you don’t capture ideas for later development, they will disappear. Recording as you play addresses both of these issues. And using my computer with a big harddrive makes it easy to get a lot of recording time. I don’t know how much I go back and listen to anything, but I will listen to parts to see if I’m getting it or if it really is a good song idea.

How do you capture your ideas and practice?

p.s. Follow up note: my mp3 player was found shortly after this entry was posted!

2 thoughts on “Recording

  1. Congrats on getting your driver issues sorted.

    I don’t record my practice but perhaps I should. I can definitely see the value of doing it.

    I do try and capture ideas. Usually I keep a guitar plugged in to my soundcard and can get Reaper up and running within a couple of minutes. If I’m not near my laptop I can also use the audio recording feature on my phone. Sound quality is poor but that’s irrelevant for recording an idea.

    • I completely forgot about using my phone! I actually have an old mp3 player that has a little internal mic that I use more than my phone. My phone just doesn’t capture the sound very well. The recording quality is horrible (to the point of sometimes not being able to hear what I am playing). I use it when I have to, but I usually try to use my mp3 player…except I’ve misplaced it. This is another reason why I wanted to get my computer’s recording capabilities functioning. Of course that doesn’t help me when I’m at work, but it is better than my phone. Hopefully I can find my mp3 player and have the best of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

