The Wall

For the first time in a long time I hit the proverbial wall last night. I was at a fencing tournament, seeded first coming out of the pools, and badly lost the quarter final bout against someone I had beat earlier in the pools. I didn’t have anything left and it was obvious.

Now, after a few hours of sleep and some food, I’m ready to go! Anyone up for a rematch?!?

The reason I even bring this up is because of the similarities it has with my guitar activities of late. I don’t know if it is exhaustion, stress, etc., but I was feeling like I had hit the proverbial wall. I didn’t write a blog entry for a week. I haven’t worked on any guitar projects in a week. My guitar lesson with KC and Son of KC was mediocre at best this week. I let my sister down after committing to helping her get back into the guitar (going to try lessons via skype since she’s far away). The list could go on and none of it is horrible or long term, but I just hit a wall…so I won’t bore you.

Then yesterday I found the second edition Hal Leonard Guitar Method Books 1, 2, and 3 at a local thrift store for sixty-nine cents each. Here’s the structure I need for Son of KC’s guitar lessons. I knew this type of resource was readily available, but I’ve been trying to do this on the cheap.

This feels like my few hours of sleep and some food, but for guitar! Look out guitar world, here comes the rematch!

3 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. You DID NOT let me down! If anything, now I’m being slow at finding free guitar apps for tuning and checking out the notes. This post is gonna get my butt in gear! Gotta get busy. Gotta get back into world of guitar.

  2. Pingback: Priority Concern « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

