Quick Fix

So I took my first dive into fixing someone else’s guitar. It was an easy fix, but I have to admit I was a bit nervous. What if I really screwed something up.

As you can see in the picture I had already taken out the jack. The 1/4 inch jack was loose in the jack plate. It had been twisted around enough that the ground wire had broken at the solder joint of the jack. So I fired up my soldering iron and quickly fixed it.

Sorry for the bad picture. The lighting wasn’t very good. But after that it worked fine and I played it a bit for fun. It reminded me of the guitar I lusted after for a while at my local guitar shop. That seems like ages ago. I was happy to play my friends now working red version, but I must admit I love my Warmoth project guitar and am much happier with it! A nice reminder to be happy with my own stuff.

Now I just have to find out if my friend wants me to put new strings on the guitar, which will allow me to clean the gunk off the frets and oil the rosewood. But if he is ready for it now (the strings seem to be pretty new too), I’ll get to work on his other guitar!

Leave a Reply

