Visitation Rights

On my way home from fencing practice this morning I dropped by Guitar Center. Normally I’m not a fan of Guitar Center, but I always like to check their used stuff and their clearance stuff. I’ve found a few gems over the years. I didn’t find anything worth purchasing, but they finally had an Electro Harmonix POG2 in stock!

For anyone who has followed this blog, you know that the POG2 has been on my wish list for a long time! Other than guitar building projects, my guitar money will go toward certain upgrades to my Frenzel Super Sportster Champ amp head and then the POG2 and then new pick ups for my Wolverine guitar. I already got the Boss DD7 digital delay effects pedal that was first on my list.

Anyway, with a $324 price tag at GC, I did not get it (I do kick myself for not acting on a craigslist POG2 for $200 months ago). But I did play it. The sales woman was nice enough to tell me it is a great pedal. She plugged it into the Boss pedal display that pumps sound out of a locked up Roland Cube amp. And it lived up to my hopes and desires. My daughter who was with me even commented that it sounded like an organ!

There was one problem. There was this very high pitched whine coming from the amp when I played. It was like a 60 cycle hum in the background of what I was playing, but very high pitched. I initially worried that it was the pedal, but I plugged straight into the Boss display and I still had the sound.

So now I have a new temptation besides cheap clearance items for going to Guitar Center. I don’t go too often (every couple months), so maybe they won’t revoke my visitation rights.

Leave a Reply

