Exhaustion and Disappointment

Just got back from a trip to the other Washington…as in District of Columbia. It was hot! Hot and muggy! I was so busy with work that I didn’t even take my Ardor licensed Steinberger headless guitar. I did get to hang out with the east coast portion of my family, which was great, but I am exhausted from long work days, late nights, and poor sleep habits.

I did get a little time to find the Guitar Shop in D.C…only to find that it was apparently closed and will become a bar called the “Guitar Shop” in which one can purchase alcoholic beverages and listen to music, but not actually play instruments or purchase said instruments. Very disappointing.

5 thoughts on “Exhaustion and Disappointment

  1. I was wondering if you had been able to see any of the sights. I would have been disappointed as well. The “Guitar Shop” sounds like it had real potential. You’ll just have to come out east again. With your family.

  2. Hey – just stumbled across your site. I also love hunting down guitar shops when I visit new cities. It’s rare that you find a really good one, but I still enjoy it. I was in DC in the Spring over a weekend and went by a place called The Guitar Shop on Connecticut Ave near Dupont. It was closed on Sundays, so I didn’t get to check it out, but it appeared that this place is still in the business of selling instruments. Who knows, though, maybe it *was* just a bar after all?

    • I’m pretty sure it is the same place. When I was there the liquor license application was posted to the front door announcing the change per whatever local public disclosure requirements apply. It had a nicely written paragraph summing up what the new purpose of The Guitar Shop will be. I don’t remember the effective date.

      And thanks for the comment! Hope you enjoy my blog.

      • That’s a real shame – it’s only been a few months since I was there. If I recall correctly, the actual store was on an upper floor so I couldn’t see in very well, but I am pretty sure that they had guitars in the window. Oh well… another one bites the dust (it’s almost like independent guitar stores are an endangered species).

      • That’s the place. I got there about 6 p.m. Their website still says they’re open 7, but the upstairs door was locked. I was disappointed to say the least. And it was late enough in the day that I didn’t have time to locate another one before the closing times listed on yelp.

Leave a Reply

