Dead Stuff

I saw this blog entry a while back about the internet being dead and I really liked it. I don’t know if I will ever do something truly creative, but I like to think that I’m adding to the world by enjoying things that are dead. Or at least I’m enjoying things that have seen their popularity wain, just not their usefulness.

I feel like guitar effects pedals are kind of the same. I’m not familiar with too many guitar effects pedals that are entirely new in sound and concept. They all seem to be rehashes or imitations of some standard group of effects that already exist. I’m still trying to learn about all the different textures and effects out there, so videos like the following are always great for getting more exposure to what is out there. Thanks!

 

2 thoughts on “Dead Stuff

  1. That’s a thought provoking post by Seth G. He’s right to a certain extent about the real creativity happening long after the vanguard have moved on to the “next big thing” but I think he is perhaps rather selective about his examples. In the world of music there are plenty of pioneers who have set the bar very high – just think of Hendrix’s use of wah, fuzz and the octavia. Rarely matched since IMO. Charlie Christian’s first steps into electric guitar, ditto. Django using the guitar as a lead rather than supporting instrument. Les Paul’s multi-track recordings and solid body electric.

    I do like the idea of using out of favour old FX though. I’ve been playing with phasers and flangers a lot recently.

  2. His examples are rather selective, but I think that his concept of something being “dead” is coming from the mass media definition. How many “Is Guitar Dead” articles and headlines have we seen over the years? With the rise in popularity of synthesizers, the “death” of guitar solos in grunge, the arrival on and control of the Top 40 by rap and hip hop, etc. I have seen this question asked, yet it wasn’t the sign of guitar’s death. The guitar has become the ubiquitous instrument in Western culture and music. There are more people picking up the guitar than ever before. This number may ebb and flow, but because it has become so common, it is now that we will get the broadest innovations that will remind us all how great the guitar is.
    The other part of this process of guitar rising and falling in popularity is the discovery of older influences. I agree that Jimi Hendrix, Charlie Christian, and Les Paul were great innovators at the forefront of the guitar. But I also wonder if there were a bunch of guitar players who came before them that just didn’t achieve that recognition or had done something in their playing that inspired the true innovators. I wasn’t there and I’m not sure how schewed a look back our current media system uses.
    But you’re right. What they did is pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

