Late to the Party

I guess everyone else is already aware of Guthrie Govan, but i wasn’t until he got the cover story for Guitar Player magazine this month. I am not into shred, but it is still interesting to read about all styles of guitar players. I really liked his interview.

Guitar Player asked, “What’s the best way for [players] to improve if they’re not in a music school?”

GG: This might be infuriating, but this is the best answer I have: They should ask themselves, “Why am I playing and waht do I want to achieve?” until they know that, there isn’t a correct way forward. In the past, at seminars, I’ve been guilty of preaching that everyone needs to learn stuff by ear as I did, and that if you can’t do that, you’re not really a musician, you’re just a typist – you’re just copying things off a trarnscription or an instructional DVD. Then, one day, i got a wakeup call from a guy at one of my clinics. He was about 50, ahd a lovely Paul Reed Smith with the most exotic top you’ve ever seen, and he stopped me mid-rant and said, “I appreciate what you’re saying but I’m a gynecologist. I get top lay guitar about 20 minutes a week. I don’t need this ear that you’re talking about, becau7se that’s not why I’m playing. If I could learn to play ‘Layla,’ it’d make me happy every day for the rest of my life.” That guy made me reassess things. No matter why you play, it’s always good to have a clear goal. If you don’t have a goal, you’ll certainly never achieve it. If you do, you might achieve it.

What a great answer. And it is really nice to read about how he also changed his views. I won’t get into my goals and whether I’m moving forward, but I will say that it is a good reminder.

And for those of you who can’t seem to settle on one goal. Here’s what Guthrie Govan did back in 2005.

Talk about versatility. Wow! And he does his own stuff too!

One thought on “Late to the Party

Leave a Reply

