Talents

At church today we had a lesson on talents.  Here’s what you’re supposed to do to develop God given talents:

  1. Discover
  2. Spend time
  3. Have faith
  4. Learn
  5. Practice
  6. Share

Per usual, I not only apply these religious teachings to life, but to guitar (and, as Karl might add, what’s the difference really? Life is guitar…oh, and delay). In fact, we talked about musical talents as an example. Someone mentioned my guitar playing and I mentioned that it isn’t a talent when you aren’t any good. That got a laugh.

But it does fit nicely into how I/people need to develop my/their guitar playing. First is to discover that you love it. Done. Second is to spend time. I think this blog proves I spend time thinking about it (perhaps not practicing), so done. Third is faith. This one was hard for me to understand at first, but a friend said something about how this refers to the ability to keep going even when you feel like you aren’t getting any better. To have faith that you will get better. Well, I’ve got the “feel like you aren’t getting any better” part down! 🙂 And I’ll keep going. So done. Fourth is to learn. I have learned songs and parts of many songs, but I haven’t really taken it to the next step in step five with practice. I don’t know how many times I have read on blogs and in guitar magazines that great guitar players (and all those better than me) practice till it becomes second nature. So I won’t list it as done, but I will list it as started. And finally sharing is something I have written about on this blog before. I will play in front of people some day. Perhaps I’ll start with one song and build from there, but I need that as a goal.

And best of all, I played the guitar tonight because I could and I felt relaxed after a nice lesson at church that made sense. I hope any and all readers out there had a good Sunday as well…even if their hair was so awesome it was distracting. Yes, I’m talking to you, Angry Baker. I’m talking to you!

4 thoughts on “Talents

  1. In regards to sharing, what if you posted video clips of your repertoire? Or what you’re working on? Then you don’t have to deal with the pressure of a live audience. That would be killing 2 birds – practicing and sharing. Then those of us far away could get in on the music too:)

Leave a Reply

