Contests

I just entered a contest for a full Line 6 rig at Sweetwater. I have to admit, I’m more curious than anything else about the gear. But if I win, it will be something to explore and learn about. And as far as online retailers go, I really like Sweetwater. They seem to try harder (think rental car ads).  I unfortunately haven’t bought anything from them to show this support, but maybe someday. After I’ve shown my support for my local guitar shops perhaps! Oh, and have transcended financial concerns.

Anyway, the whole point of this post is to laugh at the realization I had about my current guitar gear when answering their contest entry question: What’s your favorite guitar/pedal/amp combination?

Here’s what I wrote:

Currently my hard tail Warmoth project strat with firebird neck and p-rails into my morley a/b footswitch that runs into both the fender style and marshall style preamps (at the same time) on my Frenzel Champ Super Sportster amp head plugged into my homemade 1×12 pine speaker cab with a Celestion Vintage 30.

When I re-read it, it sounds like bragging.  But I’m just trying to communicate the gearhead/nerd side of what I currently have. And I really like my current set up. I’d like a POG2. I’d like a Boss DD7. I’d like to add an effects loop and a second optional power tube to my amp. But currently I like what I have. I need to play through it more. I need to play more.

So I have some new year’s resolutions.

  1. I’m going to restart my 30 minute morning workout regimen.
  2. I’m going to play the guitar at least every other day in an organized fashion (more on this in my next post).
  3. I’m going to read more scripture and pray more regularly.
  4. I’m going to plan more time with my spouse.
  5. I’m going to engage (thanks Angry Baker) with my kids more.
  6. I’m going to relax about the other stuff.

My goal is to prioritize. Less tv. Less late night reading. Less internet. Less work. More family. More personal faith. More guitar.

We’ll see what happens.

9 thoughts on “Contests

  1. A great balanced list of priorities. I made a resolution to stop watching live TV. I only watch something if I cared enough to set up the recording. Amazing how much time this has freed up.

    • With the DVR we stopped watching live tv a couple of years ago and it made a huge difference too…but now I’m on the look out for new shows a little too closely. 🙂

  2. Guitar Player just reviewed the POD HD 500-DT50 combination and it sounds like a pretty cool set up. I’ll probably head over and enter myself.

  3. Catching up on your blog. Hope that the resolutions are going well. I’ve really thought hard about taking TV out of the equation. But I think I have to wait til the baby is a bit older. 🙂

    • I am not advocating eliminating tv, but simply making sure that when you watch tv you do it on purpose. It shouldn’t be a haphazard waste of time. Have specific shows in mind. Have a specific length of time. Being in control of your tv time will have more of an impact than taking it entirely out of the equation because you’ll still be able to do something that entertains you, but you’ll also not waste time when you’re not really being entertained. Good luck with whatever you decide. That’s the beauty of it. You get to pick what you want.

Leave a Reply

