Live Music Tonight

I saw two bands tonight perform at a local bar. The first band was better than any group I’ve played with, but didn’t capture my attention. The bass player played through the same Peavey bass amp I own, but he had the one with the 10 slider EQ. That made me happy since I like the idea of having all the equipment a band needs to play right here in my own home (my wife just shakes her head at that thought).

The guitarist had a very nice Fender Tele (probably an American Deluxe) and a Mesa Boogie 5:50 Express amp head and matching 2×12 speaker cabinet. It was very pretty.

The next band was Congratulations. I was really there to just get their album for my wife who wasn’t feeling well, but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed their set. The lead singer/keyboardist had a very good voice and sound. He often sounded like Thom Yorke of Radiohead…or at least influenced by him. I watched the guitarist closely to see how his playing interacted with the piano (based on my wife’s suggestions for our current band). I liked his playing, but still feel a bit lost on my own front. Perhaps I’ll figure it out a bit when we get together to play tomorrow.

I walked away from the show with Congratulations’ new and old albums. Overall, a good night.

One thought on “Live Music Tonight

  1. I think it’s great that you’re really LOOKING at how the guitar is played. That’s a great way to learn while also being there to enjoy the show. And glad that your wife’s music selection pleasantly surprised you!

Leave a Reply

