GAS wisdom

I’ve talked about Gear Acquisition Syndrome (GAS) here many times, especially how my continual reading and looking at gear online distracts from my actually learning to play. I still think this is a problem, but Anthony at StevieSnacks has posted the best blog entry on the subject I’ve read so far.

Perhaps this is because I have been self-conscious of the guitar gear I have, but don’t know how to really use to make music. But rather than be ashamed and embarrassed to the point of inaction, I should be using it to inspire and drive me to use this equipment. I should be inspired by what I’ve got. As StevieSnacks says, I should be unapologetic, but not take these things for granted. And that means unapologetic to myself because I am my own worst critic. I am the source of my own guilt and inaction.

This doesn’t mean I can do nothing but play guitar, build/fix/jury rig equipment, ignore everything else in my life. What it does mean is that I can change my emotional balance. I can change the interaction of the different activities in my life. Wish me luck.

One thought on “GAS wisdom

  1. I think it’s sad that we really can be our own worst critic–when really, we should be the one cheering ourselves on the most.

Leave a Reply

