Solid State Tone

At lunch today I played my Epiphone “1965” G-400 through an old 80’s Pocket-Rockit and headphones. The weird thing was I got this totally awe inspiring George Thorogood/John Lee Hooker tone. It just wanted me to play these gritty open chords with little hammer on and pull off riffs.

I then pulled out my glass slide and tried to play something that sounded somewhat worthy of the tone I was getting through this little old headphone amp.

My slide playing leaves a lot to be desired. And playing in standard tuning makes things awkward since I can’t just flub a note and play the whole open chord with the slide. I played with my pick and used my middle and ring fingers to mute the lower strings. I used my palm to mute the upper strings. Or maybe I’ve got those descriptions reversed. Anyway, I did better mutting unwanted string noise than I have in a long time.

It was a lot of fun and a great way to relax for 15 minutes during work. Of course I’m sure when I plug in next it won’t be the same tone. I’m sure this was a one time deal of the right solid state components making the right sound waves hit the right spots on my ears. But who am I to complain? It sounded good (well, the tone did anyway) and I had fun.

Leave a Reply

