Friendly Jam

The friend who got me the body blanks just got a Gretsch Electromatic Double Cutaway guitar pictured below for Chirstmas.  He also got a Fender Vibro Champ XD amp.  He’s retired and his family is out of town today. I’ve got the day off.  So we got together.  I took my Frenzel Super Sportster Champ head, still unfinished 1×12 speaker cabinet, and my Warmoth project guitar.  He played his Gretsch.  We had a great time!

We played some 12 bar blues.  We played some Beatles.  He taught me some cowboy songs.  He is a former Special Forces guy who played in country and western bands around base in the 60’s and 70’s.  He hasn’t played for a long time and I’m not very good, so we were evenly matched!  He also writes poetry and the occasional song.  He said he writes more poetry than songs because he comes up with poetry when he’s in bed and songs when he’s in the shower.  If he wants to write a song, he takes more showers.  I thought that was pretty funny.

After an hour and a half of playing, we agreed we had to do this again.  I also said I had to record some of the songs he’s written (minus the shower).  We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

