Goodbye ol’ friend

I am having to say good bye to the Boss RC-20 loop station that I have borrowed for at least two, maybe three, years.  For someone who plays alone 95% of the time, it really is a great tool.  And, I must admit, I have just started getting into the layering textures of looping and delay after reading about it at Guitar For Worship for so long.

But now I must move on, be the responsible friend, and return the pedal that I have truly been grateful to borrow.  I’ll add it to my list of big ticket item wishes and keep an eye open for a good deal someday.  It may even beat out the POG2 on the top of the list.  We’ll see if I put my money where my mouth is.

Before unhooking the pedal, I did record everything that I have recorded on the 10 tracks.  And since I was using it, I came up with two more things to loop and play on top of, so I recorded those too.  It was great fun listening to the differences between the different licks and chord progressions I have come up with over the years.  Some have been on the loop station since I first borrowed it.  Others have come and gone, only to be replaced again by other ideas.  I don’t know if I’m better, but I have learned a lot.

I keep telling myself that the return of my Holy Grail reverb and the addition of my new Morley A/B/Y switch to my pedal board is well worth the loss of the loop station, but I think I’m just telling myself that for comfort.  I don’t think I need to be consoled, but…I guess I do.  In the end, it doesn’t matter.  I got to use it for much longer than is reasonable due to the generosity of a good friend.  That generosity is now passing it on to another guitar player who will probably work with it a lot more and get a lot more out of it.  If my friend reads this, THANK YOU!

5 thoughts on “Goodbye ol’ friend

    • Great price? Well, just about anything used is a better price. 😉
      Seriously, I’m debating the values of the Boss RC-2 versus the Digitech Jamman Solo. Both are just under $200 new and both are a single sized pedal (but I would want to get the optional footswitch for whichever one I get). The Boss RC-2 seems just as straight forward as the Boss RC-20 I just returned and I have an old Behringer two button footswitch I got for a dollar at some garage sale which I think will work as the optional footswitch…plus they are more common and easier to find used.
      However, the usb and memory card expansion capabilities of the Digitech Jamman Solo are stopping me from going for the Boss RC-2 (well, that and post-Christmas finances). The Digitech Jamman Solo seems to have enough features and capabilities compared to the Boss RC-2 that it is competitive. I haven’t actually used one, so I’ll need to stop by my local guitar shop one of these days. Features wise, it seems to fit the bill. I haven’t started looking for a used one.
      Also, I don’t loop enough live to justify the larger, more expensive, looping pedals, so I’m not considering the Boss RC-20XL or Digitech Jamman Stereo or any other brands out there.
      Additionally, I’ve had a Boss DD-7 digital delay pedal on my wish list for a long time. It can loop up to 40 seconds, which may be a better use of my money and a short term fix until I can afford a dedicated looper pedal. I’m sure I’ll be posting about the journey to any purchase.

    • I don’t know. I’ll have to check one out at my local music shop.

      Have fun with your board. Gathering pedals over time on a budget can be fun. Good luck!

  1. Pingback: Small Tragedy « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

