So Close

In the same week I had the opportunity to buy a POG and a POG2, b0th of which I was unable to take advantage.  Very disappointing.

I did see a blog post today about a boom box made out of a suitcase. Check out the maker, Mr. Simo, here.

Maybe I should try making a guitar cab out of a suitcase before I go for the wood one that I have designed in my head (especially since my wife rightly pointed out that my woodworking skills are crap and it is supposed to be a square/rectangle box, not a rhombus).

Hmmm…May have to hit the thrift stores this weekend.  I’d probably get something with flat sides so I could reinforce it with some birch plywood.

And as I’m sitting here looking at my new office arrangement, I see an old briefcase I tried to make into a pedal board (too small, hee hee). It measures 12.5 by 17.7 by 3.4 inches.  The speaker is 12 by 5 inches. The diameter would barely fit and the briefcase would never close or at least would require a hole on the other side for the magnet to poke out.  Doesn’t seem as clean as the BoomCases, does it?

Maybe I could have it open so the speaker is slanted up.  I was going to make an opened back speaker cabinet from wood anyway, what’s wrong with an open back suitcase speaker cabinet?

Plus I’d get the benefit of more immediate gratification.

 

One thought on “So Close

  1. Pingback: Dilemma « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

