Good Night

The reverb from a particularly juicy fart takes me by surprise.  The smell that follows also takes me by surprise.  Not because I didn’t expect it, but because it was more powerful than I thought it would be.

So how does reverb work and how does it make things sound grander than they may actually be all by themselves?

I don’t know.  I know there is a technical explanation, but you won’t find it here.

I have posted in the past that I got an Electro Harmonix Holy Grail Reverb pedal for $5 at a local thrift store.  Yes, I know.  An amazing find!  But it is currently not on my pedal board.  Do I miss it?  Yes.  Enough to figure out how to get it to fit?  Not yet.

When I use reverb I am generally not trying to recreate some sort of surf guitar sound, a la Dick Dale (btw, saw him live this February and he was fantastic).  I am using it to add depth and texture to my guitar playing.  Just enough to make my sound bigger and fuller (is that a word?).

Right now I am trying to explore my new guitar amp when I don’t waste my evening on the internet.  I want to understand the natural tone and sound of the amp before I start throwing in effects.  So I haven’t plugged in my pedal board yet.  But I need to.  I should explore all the tools at my disposal.

But tonight I have waited too long and must head to bed.  Good night.

Leave a Reply

