Lesson

I had a lesson with a local blues guitar player and really enjoyed it!  This was just an introductory lesson in which we both just felt each other’s styles out and got a sense of what our lessons should cover in the future.  I think he summed me up pretty well: You know how to play, you just don’t play.

Those weren’t his exact words, but that was my interpretation of the evening.  And he is right.  He was complimentary of what I can play and what I have already learned, but it was obvious that I have huge holes of knowledge and ability in my playing.  I have learned lots of little things, but can’t put them together to create a dynamic and interesting song.  For example, I can play a twelve bar blues.  I can play the minor pentatonic scale.  But I can’t play a twelve bar blues with fills and accents from the minor pentatonic scale.

One of my goals is to be able to  accompany myself.  That means learning to play a mixture of rhtym and solo guitar parts at the same time in the same song.  A lot of blues guys did and do this.  They have to since they are usually the lone guitar player in their group.

How do I achieve this?  Practice and lessons.  What will I do?  Stay tuned (get it, stay tuned…like a guitar…oh, I crack myself up).

6 thoughts on “Lesson

  1. Amen on the lessons. I’ve been taking for a few months and have learned a bunch. I was surprised how close I was as far as some of the modes and stuff, but it is great to actually know what works and how it connects. I’ve been playing for over 20 years and am kicking myself for waiting so long to do this. Good luck. Bummer on the Mesa, but the lessons are probably a better investment.

    • Glad to hear the lessons are working out for you! Thanks for the good wishes and the condolences on the Mesa, but you’re right, the lessons are a better investment…I think!)

Leave a Reply

