Quiet

Spent the evening playing different guitars through the Mesa Boogie Mark IV with the volume down at around 1 to 1.2 while the kids slept upstairs, the in-laws watched a movie in the other room, and my wife surfed the web.  I tried to use the recording out as a headphone amp, but it didn’t work very well.  Next time I’ll try plugging it into my mixer and see if that works better.

I really do like the sound of channels 1 & 2.  I haven’t played around too much with channel 3, but that’s because it is a bit too loud…even at 1 to 1.2 on the output volume.  Channel 1 is a great clean sound that reminds me a lot of the Fender Deluxe Reverb sound I have been seeking since I let that one slip away and the Old School Amp I keep looking at when I visit my local guitar shop.  Channel 2 is currently set up with a good blues crunch.  Single notes are clear and open, but chords have some omph to them.  I think I will try to dial in a more rockin’ sound in channel 2 so it is a better go between from channel 1 to channel 3.  The lead channel (#3) sounds great, but I haven’t been able to use it much because I haven’t been playing strong power chords in channel 2.  It’s been too clean, but that should be easy to change…I’ve read the entire Mark IV users manual!

The most surprising thing was how good my Epiphone Crestwood sounded through the Mark IV.  Wow!

Leave a Reply

