Stressed

I was stressed at work today trying to do too many things all at once.  I couldn’t focus on the memo I had to write.  I couldn’t even write an outline of what I wanted to put in the memo.  So I grabbed my guitar off the wall, played it for all of two minutes right there at my desk with the door open, put it back on the wall, and typed up an outline in ten minutes.

I’m still a bit stressed with all the assignments at work, but it was nice to focus all my attention on one thing with the help of my guitar.

Will this work in the future?  I don’t know.  Probably not.  I doubt it.  If I do this too much, I’ll just end up playing instead of working.  That would defeat the purpose.  Also, when I play for longer periods of time at work I tend to relax myself and lose focus entirely.  That would also defeat the purpose.  If I play for too short a period of time, I’ll just want to play more and it will be a greater distraction.  That would defeat the purpose.

I guess I’ll just continue to play by ear (no pun intended).  There probably isn’t a right or wrong answer.  I guess I should just be glad I have a work environment where I can do that and no one cares or is offended (that I know of).  I certainly won’t abuse that flexibility.

Leave a Reply

