Wah before Distortion?

So which is it?  Jimi Hendrix used it before.  Most people today use it after.  How does it sound?  That’s the key.  What if I like both, but for different uses?

I like before when I’m playing chords.  It really makes things spike and pop when I want them to, just with the use of the wah wah pedal in front of the distortion pedals.

I like after when I’m playing individual strings.  I think I get a better wah sound that actually has a range of changes.  It isn’t just a spike or on/off sound like having the wah before distortion.

So I have decided to go with after.  It seems more versatile…until I change my mind and go the other way.

Leave a Reply

