Tonight

7:45 p.m.  Kids are in bed.  Wife has gone out with the girls.  Work bench is ready for use after spending half the day cleaning the garage.  Soldering iron, here I come!

7:53 p.m. Actually heading out to the garage.  Got distracted by Guitar for Worship’s video post using his new pedal board.

8:38 p.m.  Admittedly I am going slow, but I have completed the connecting wire on my three way blade pick up selector switch.  I will say it looks very nice in my opinion…for a first time.  I have also prepped the concentric pots that will be the two tone knobs for the two pick ups, but I’m nervous about soldering the capacitors on, so I’ve come back inside to read online tutorials about soldering capacitors to pots for guitars.

8:57 p.m. Head back out to the garage to solder the capacitors onto my concentric tone pot.

9:14 p.m. Daughter made weird noise in her sleep (thank you wireless monitor).  Went up to check on her but nothing seems wrong.

9:16 p.m. Back to the garage.  I was able to complete soldering the first cap on the first level of the concentric pot before coming inside.  I had difficulty getting the glob of solder to stick to the side of the pot casing, but it seems to be holding now.

9:42 p.m. Come inside to try to put all the pots and switches into the guitar (rear cavity) to then solder everything together.  In the process I lost one of the nuts for attaching a pot to the body and broke the solder point on the inner portion of the concentric pot.

9:48 p.m. Back inside after reattaching the capacitor to the side of the inner concentric pot.  Found the missing nut on the way back inside.

10:13 p.m. On the computer looking at wiring configurations to decide which way the pots should face inside the rear cavity.

11:53 p.m. Came back inside to heat up some heat shrink I used in two spots for some extra insulation.  Everything is wired up except the jack.  I will confirm on the internet how to install and wire the jack, then the big test…

12:07 a.m. Went back to garage to solder and install the jack.

12:27 a.m. Came inside to test the guitar!  At first nothing comes out. Then I change the pick up selector from the middle to the bridge… we have sound!  Then I go back to the middle, nothing.  I go to the bridge…we have sound!  Volume and tone knobs work for their individual pick ups.  I’m just not getting any sound when I am in the middle position of the pick up selector switch.  Instead of combining the two pick ups, I get nothing.  Time to do some testing and research.

12:51 a.m. I have an idea, but I want to confirm it online.

1:43 a.m. I cannot confirm my wiring idea online.  So I put all six strings on the guitar (only had two before).  I will do a final set up (intonation, neck relief, pick up height, etc.) tomorrow.  As for the pick up selector wiring problem, I’ll have to talk to an expert or post something on a forum.  Perhaps on Monday I’ll talk to a professional.  Good night.

Leave a Reply

