Another Analogous Activity

I went to a local trapeze troupe’s monthly performance tonight.  It was the first time I’d been to one and it was fantastic!  Great fun to watch but something I would never do.  They also have a guest performer come to do a routine.  Apparently the guest is usually very good and tonight was no exception.  She made it look so easy.  Certainly not effortless, but the contrast with a few of the other performances I saw made the differences in skill level rather obvious.  Don’t get me wrong, none of the performances were bad.  Just different skill levels.  In fact, even with the high skill of the guest, my favorite performance was from a duo whose routine was more dance than acrobatics.  There were certainly acrobatics, but they worked together so well that they complimented each other and made it a great performance.

So I began to wonder, I won’t be joining a trapeze troupe any time soon, but I would like to start attending and performing in open mics or playing with a band.  It is much the same environment.  A mixture of skill levels, but everyone trying.  And everyone having a good time.  Just finding the environment where different skill levels can mix is the first step.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

