Serious Guitar Envy

I work with a guy who has been playing guitar on and off semi-professionally for about forty years.  We always chat about guitars, gigs (his), effects, amps, etc. whenever we have reason to work together.  So finally, after ending many conversations with both of us saying we need to get together, I invited myself over.  WOW.  We had talked about most of the guitars, effects, and amps that he owns, but seeing and playing them was amazing.

He’s got a G&L tele, G&L strat, G&L bass, Taylor 314CE, Taylor classical, 1971 Spanish classical (from Spain), 1970 Gibson Les Paul, Godin acoustic-electric 12 string, another Godin strung with just the high octave strings from a 12 string so it sounds like a mandolin, Schecter Stargazer 12 string, Parker Fly Classic, early-90’s all black PRS McCarty, a Heritage Eagle, and a few others I can’t remember.

We played all of these through either a Mesa Boogie Mark IV, Mesa Maverick, Fender Acoustisonic, or some modeling Yamaha amp.  We jammed for a little bit, him on bass, me on guitar.  But most of the two hours I was there was spent taking turns playing each of his guitars.  I have to say, my favorite was the Parker Fly.  It just felt right.

Pedals included a Joe Meek QFloor compressor, Roland synth (never played organ or sax on the guitar before!), Boss CE-5 Chorus, Seymour Duncan Pickup Booster, Seymour Duncan Shape Shifter, Visual Sound Jekyll & Hyde, Korg Pitchblack tuner, and a few others.

Three things came out of this visit.  First, my co-worker was very gracious and really made me feel comfortable with my drooling all over his equipment and my much lower playing ability.  He really was nice.   And his generosity gave me a lot of exposure to a lot of great guitars.  It was also nice to get his opinion on his guitars and compare that to my initial opinion as I played them.  It helped me understand and better articulate some of the features I like and don’t like in a guitar because I was able to take what he said and see what I agreed with and didn’t agree with.

Second, I need to build up my song repertoire so I can actually play with other people. Our jamming together was rather short lived because I still felt uncomfortable.

Third, I need to master the equipment I have so when I can afford that amazing guitar (Parker Fly, Vox Virage, Rickenbacker 480, or something else), I will actually be able to use the added quality and features that I may not have with my current budget guitars.

3 thoughts on “Serious Guitar Envy

  1. Pingback: Martyr Syndrome « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

  2. Pingback: Friday wasn’t the end « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

  3. Pingback: Jealous Much? | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

